Latest Travel Document News

Schengen area border control rules will not apply to air transport until 29 March 2008

27 November 2007

On 21 December, 2007 nine new countries will join the Schengen area, after which border control by land and sea between these countries will cease to exist. However, immigration control will remain in place for intra-Schengen flights operating to and from the new member states until 29 March 2008.

Following are the new Schengen area members:

  • Czech Republic

  • Estonia

  • Hungary

  • Latvia

  • Lithuania

  • Malta

  • Poland

  • Slovak Republic

  • Slovenia.

Schengen Visas
There are 4 types of Schengen visas:

  • Type A: Airport Transit Visa; required for those nationals who are not eligible to use the Transit Without Visa (TWOV) facility and are in direct transit to or from another Schengen country. In general, leaving the airport is not allowed.

  • Type B: Transit Visa; required by passengers who are transiting in the Schengen territory and exceed the allowed transit-time, and for passengers who are transiting in more than 1 Schengen country.

  • Type C: Short Period Visa (maximum 3 months) ; the common \"Schengen Visa\" which is issued by any one of the 15 States and is valid for all the others.

  • Type D: Long period national visa; a visa for a longer period or for other special cases, which may be issued by an individual Schengen State on a national basis (these are indicated as valid for the country of issue only ).

When applying for either a Type B or Type C visa with the intension of visiting/transiting:

  • A single Schengen state: Applications should be made at the Consulate or Embassy of that particular country;

  • Several Schengen states: Applications should be made at the Consulate or Embassy of the country intended as the main destination;

  • Several Schengen states but do not have a main destination: Applications should be made at the Consulate or Embassy of the country that is the first point of entry into the Schengen area.

Currently Schengen area states:

  • Austria

  • Belgium

  • Denmark

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Greece

  • Iceland

  • Italy

  • Luxembourg

  • Netherlands

  • Norway

  • Portugal

  • Spain

  • Sweden.

European Union countries which are not Schengen Area members:

  • Bulgaria

  • Cyprus

  • Ireland (Republic of)

  • Romania

  • United Kingdom

Purpose of your stay

Please indicate below the main reason (purpose) of your stay

x (sluit popup)
x (sluit popup)

Departure date

Selecteer een periode
x (sluit popup)