Latest Travel Document News

UK changes to entry and transit requirements for citizens of Chinese Taipei (Taiwan), South Africa and Jamaica

20 February 2009

Effective from the 3rd March 2009 the UK government has introduced changes to entry and transit restrictions for nationals of Chinese Taipei (Taiwan), South Africa and Jamaica:

  • holders of Chinese Taipei (Taiwanese) travel documents are visa exempt if staying less than 6 months.

  • South African nationals require a visa for entry into and transit through the UK. Exempt from this requirement, for a temporary period only (date not yet announced), are those holding a valid passport which contains proof of a previous visit to the UK. For those travelling to the UK for the first time or if the valid passport does not contain proof of previous travel to the UK a visa is required.

  • Jamaican nationals require a visa to transit through the UK. However, exemptions apply when holding visas or specific residents permits issued by EEA member states, Australia, Canada, New Zealand or U.S.A.